My Summer in Florida Week 4

Hey guys, so I’m kinda a week behind my blog…opps sorry. Last week I went to my Grandpa’s parents. They live on a farm in Chipley, Florida (about 5 hours away) and they have a garden that is AMAZING!

Picking tomatoes

Picking tomatoes

Y’all should have seen it! I got to pick watermelons, cantaloupe, and tomatoes. We got this one watermelon that was HUGE! It was bigger than my head and my head is big, (in my opinion):) I’m kidding my head isn’t that big. It was a lot of!

Fresh Watermelon

Fresh Watermelon

The next day my Grandma took me to Falling Waters Sate Park.  Falling Waters has Florida’s tallest waterfall 🙂 its 73 ft. when we took pictures it looked like I was 2 ft tall compared to it!

Falling Waters

Falling Waters – that’s me on the observation deck

On the way home Grandma and I stopped to pick blueberries, I snuck a few to taste test while picking!

Picking Blueberries

Picking Blueberries

For dinner  we all had an amazing dinner with fresh veggies from the garden!! After, my granddaddy not my grandpa, put almost a half of a watermelon in front of me and said “eat”! Oh did I eat it, it was SO SWEET! Way better then “gmo” watermelon and stuff from the grocery store. (Don’t tell Wal-Mart I said that or ill go to Wal-Mart jail! LOL) Ok??

Grooming the horses

Grooming the horses

Anyway the next day I got to groom the horses they were really gentle! But they were GORGEOUS! They are to old to ride but they loved me.. I think. Misty was jealous when I went to pet the other one, Baby! Then when I would groom Misty, Baby would nudge me. They were so cute! We had to leave that afternoon, but I learned a lot about my grandpa’s childhood and I got to spend away from the city! Yah fun!!! On Sunday we went to go see The Lone Ranger!!! It was super funny and the Spirit Horse, Silver was a beer drinking-crazy dressed up, messed up horse. I swear if it was just the horse that was I the movie I still would have liked it! It was a good movie. Well, that was my weekend, but I have more…

Kayaking Weeki Wachee River

Kayaking Weeki Wachee River

Yesterday (Wednesday) I went KAYAKING for the first time! Grandma took me to the Weeki Wachee River. I could not believe how clear the water was – you could see the bottom and all the fish to! It was really hard at first but when you get used to it, it’s a lot easier.

Kayaking Weeki Wachee River

It was A LOT of fun, I can’t wait to do it in Saltwater!!! Well that’s my weekend and this week…how is yours so far??? I’ll blog again later this week or this weekend. My summer is coming to an end:( but! I have till next Thursday and time for one more blog post!!! This is fun training to be one of the guides for Not a Clue Adventures! Bye Guys

 

About notacluegal

Jeanene was born in Pittsburgh, PA. As a young child her family was very active in the outdoors. Things changed when her parents decided to travel down different paths in life and with that decision so went many of the opportunities to enjoy the outdoors. Being lucky to live in the suburbs Jeanene always had a backyard to play in and loved being outdoors. As the years passed she took every opportunity to be outdoors. She bought land in Tennessee and as a single mom moved her young daughter to the mountains. The were many life lessons learned on that mountain. There was no plumbing on the property – or even a house, but that did not stop her. She learned to live off of what was available and built her own cabin from the trees on her property. Those were rough years but the most rewarding. Now Jeanene resides in Tampa, Fl. and works as an office manager full time….but still yeans to be outdoors. Jeanene started “Not a Clue Adventures” to teach everyone she could how wonderful the outdoors are! That camping and fishing and hiking can be done by everyone and at many different levels. Single mom’s no longer have to be afraid to take their sons and daughters outdoors. By working with young couples, single parents and even seniors, she gets to teach others about her love for the outdoors and hopes to open their eyes to new adventures. In 2009, Jeanene completed certification as a Leave No Trace Instructor. She also works closely with the National Wild Turkey Federation (NWTF), Florida Fish and Wildlife Commission (FWC) and the Florida State Parks. Jeanene is also certified in First Aid/Adult CPR.
This entry was posted in Activities, Nature at its Best, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

